Link Etiquette

December 7, 2010 § 4 Comments

I had no idea!

This is my first blog and I had absolutely no idea that there was a process for linking to websites!  I know it’s funny, but I was horrified to know that I had transgressed in some way towards an organization I admired.  So, full of guilt,  I went on a search spree to find out what the correct way to link was.

Needless to say, opinions differ greatly.  I’m assuming there could be more concern about my blog because I have a very particular goal I am working towards.  Organization affiliation could be presumed with that goal could be, well, presumed – and I guess detrimental in some way.  Maybe when NPJP becomes a real entity, not just an idea…

It’s interesting that this happened, because just yesterday I contacted a professor at GWU and I referred to myself as the “lil ‘ole undergraduate with a great idea.”  He promptly contacted me back expressing an understanding and agreed to helping me come up with a list of benefits in a more academic vernacular.  Somewhere, my “status” may actually play a part in this journey.  Hopefully not, but…

Anyway, here is what I found on the linking:

ProBlogger – The Etiquette of Linking

Essentially, give credit where it’s due – in full.  Make sure it’s clearly recognizable that the content is not originally yours.

Lorelle – You Do Not Need Permission to Link

Really focused on what I have here – a blog.  I’m guessing there is a difference between a website and a blog?  The fine line, which I’m guessing comes from perception, is what Lorelle discusses below:

” Should you ask permission to link to someone on your blogroll or otherwise? Maybe. It depends upon what you are going to do with that link. Blogroll links are recommendations, encouraging visitors to follow the sites you recommend. If they don’t want your recommendation, you probably don’t want them on your list.

However, if you are using a link to their blog or website in a way that makes you money, takes money away from them, or exploits their site for your own benefit, then I recommend you get permission as the perspective on the outgoing link has changed.”

I am so confused!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Link Etiquette

  • As are many.
    1. If you want to link within your normal content or blogroll, link freely. Don’t ask for permission.
    2. If you want to take their content or abuse that link for the benefit of yourself, at the exploitation of the other, get permission.
    I recommend you read The Power of the Link to get a better perspective on what a link “really is” not just want it can do. It’s a powerful thing and it’s what the web was built on. If you understand the power of the link and how to use it, it is magic. :D Opens doors, connects things connetable and never connected before. It reaches out and touches. It brings things back to you. It generates energy. It’s a really exciting thing. Don’t fear it, just learn how to use it and learn how to make it work for you not against you or others.
    It’s a good question and a powerful lesson in communication on the web. Enjoy!

    • npjproject says:

      Thank you so much.

      I will certainly look at The Power of the Link. May I ask, how are you defining exploitation? It’s such a vague word but so powerful.

      And thank you again for replying. It’s what I would do and I can’t wait to get more comments so that I can!

  • Exploitation is abuse. It can be copyright infringement (plagiarism), linking to someone “just because” they can give you or get you something (often called “link juice,” and other ways humans abuse personal relationships. A link is a relationship, not just a gateway. Don’t abuse the relationship.

    Links are also trust agents. When you include a link in an article, readers are trusting that the link will offer them more information and not send them to a spammy or malicious site. If you do, do you think they will come back for more? Do you think they will refer you to others or say nice things about you? Do you think they will trust you? This is why the ads which are really links in wolf’s clothing are SO hated. They click through to ads or popup ads and interfere with a person’s ability to read the article, as well as break trust in the functionality of a link. Let your reader’s trust your links and they grow to trust you.

    That’s why understanding how powerful links are is so important. They are more than just an HTML anchor tag with an address in them.

    I’m really proud of you willing to learn so much and open yourself up to all the possibilities and lessons to be learned in blogging. It’s so exciting. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Link Etiquette at My National Prison Journal Project.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

